Conservation Committee

The Conservation Committee is a group of CoNPS volunteers who advocate for the native plants of Colorado by:

1. Making public comment on government management plans and policies,
2. And promoting and supporting federal, state and local legislation.
3. Writing articles for our Conservation Corner column in Aquilegia, CoNPS' quarterly newsletter.
4. Serving as a clearinghouse of conservation issues for our society chapters.
5. Promoting and encouraging our members to participate in native plant conservation projects  run by our conservation partner agencies .  The Rare Plant Monitoring Stewards Program which is run by the Denver Botanic Gardens, and the Natural Areas Volunteer Stewards Program run by the Colorado Natural Areas Program.

In the past, our committee has run various on-the-ground conservation projects.  However, in 2017 we decided to turn all of these projects over to the Field Studies Committee and the Restoration Committee in order to eliminate duplication of effort.

Conservation Committee announcements are reports are here.
Contact Mo Ewing for information or if you are interested in participating:

The Committee

Bayard (Mo) Ewing, Chair
Linda Smith Co-chair
Natalie Acosta
Gay Austin
Laurel Brigham
Crystal Cogar
Louise Conner
Tiffany Gentry
Jess Gray
Stephen Homebeck
Brad Klafehn
Denise Larson
Anna Mahorsky
Laurel Starr
Melinda Taylor
John Vickery
Robert Walker
Sienna Wessel
Yvonne Wilder
Truman Young

Black Canyon of the Gunnison, Gunnison, CO [photo credit]

Silverleaf Nightshade
(Solanum elaeagnifolium)

Fish Lake Thistle (Cirsium clavatum)

Porcini Mushroom (Boletus edulus)

Hoosier Pass Ipomopsis
(Ipomopsis globularis) (G2S2)

Arctic Gentian
(Gentianoides algida)