Research Grants Committee

Objective: To Select the recipients of small grants from the John W. Marr Fund and the Myrna P. Steinkamp Memorial Fund.

Your contribution to the Colorado Native Plant Society John W. Marr and Myrna P. Steinkamp funds supports research projects in plant biology.  These separate funds honor the late Dr. John Marr, Professor at the University of Colorado and first President of the Colorado Native Plant Society, and Myrna Steinkamp, a founding member of the Colorado Native Plant Society who worked on behalf of the Society for many years in a variety of capacities. 

Both funds were established to support field and laboratory research on the biology and natural history of Colorado native plants.

Rollins Lake, Rollins Pass, Boulder County

The Marr Fund supports research on the biology of Colorado native plants and plant communities.

The Steinkamp Fund supports research on the biology of Colorado rare native plants.

Thanks to the generous contributions of many members and supporters, a total of approximately $3,500 each year is available for grants.  Your donation to these funds is encouraged and welcomed.  Please make your check to the Colorado Native Plant Society, designate the fund(s) to which you are donating and mail to:

Colorado Native Plant Society
P.O. Box 200
Fort Collins, Colorado 80522


Applying For A Grant

The Board of Directors are now soliciting proposals for a February 15 deadline.

For additional information, please contact Stephen Stern at  

Recipients of the awards summarize their studies for publication in the Society's newsletter, Aquilegia, and on this web site.

Snow Willow (Salix nivalis)

Wild Bergamot (Monarda fistulosa)

Arrhenia auriscalpium
Utah Serviceberry
(Amelanchier utahensis)

Astragalus oocalycis