The Honorable Ryan Zinke, Secretary U.S. Department of the Interior 1849 C Street NW Washington, DC 20240

Dear Secretary Zinke:

We, the undersigned county commissioners, write to formally state our opposition to the presidential administration's review of the protections afforded our national monuments. These monuments are our heritage, our future and our template for preservation. The review is both illegal and in opposition to the wishes of those we represent as commissioners – the arm of government closest to the people of Colorado and the American West.

Colorado is blessed with spectacular public lands that span the state. Among the most cherished are national monuments, including Colorado National Monument, Browns Canyon, Canyons of the Ancients, Chimney Rock, Florissant Fossil Beds, Dinosaur, Hovenweep and Yucca House. These treasures must be protected and preserved for future generations to enjoy.

Public lands, and national monuments in particular, are major drivers behind our robust outdoor recreation economy. Outdoor recreation generates \$887 billion in direct consumer spending each year across the nation and supports more than 7.5 million American jobs. Including indirect impact, the industry has a \$2.1 trillion overall economic impact, supports 14.1 million jobs and generates \$80 billion in national, state and local tax revenue each year. That revenue funds schools, health care, public safety and transportation infrastructure – priorities of the current administration.

In Colorado, leaders and citizens have done the hard work of long-range planning, community outreach and development of partnerships necessary to protect our unique lands through national monument designation. To suggest that this work – in which states and local communities invested years – can be reviewed thoroughly and changed in 45 days is an insult to those who live where these national treasures exist. The willingness to compromise the Antiquities Act, which has served the nation well since 1906, leads us to question if any public land is safe from the threat of destruction under the present administration. We believe that Congress, through the legislative process, is the only proper venue to consider changing boundaries or management of national monuments.

National monuments are one of the great American ideas, created in the spirit of conservation and cultural preservation. They are the property of the American people, and a strong majority of western citizens – our constituents – support their creation and preservation. To rescind or alter them will cultivate an environment of mistrust and threaten any positive working relationship between the federal government and local communities. We urge you to consider the consequences of these actions and the precedent this review sets for the future of our nation and generations to come.

Sincerely,

Eva Henry, Commissioner, Adams County Steve O'Dorisio, Commissioner, Adams County Nancy Jackson, Commissioner, Arapahoe County Deb Gardner, Commissioner, Boulder County Elise Jones, Commissioner, Boulder County Keith Baker, Commissioner, Chafee County Tim Mauck, Commissioner, Clear Creek County Randy Wheelock, Commissioner, Clear Creek County Kathy Chandler Henry, Commissioner, Eagle County Jill Ryan, Commissioner, Eagle County Linda Isenhart, Commissioner, Gilpin County Gail Watson, Commissioner, Gilpin County Jonathan Houck, Commissioner, Gunnison County John Messner, Commissioner, Gunnison County Gwen Lachelt, Commissioner, La Plata County Ben Tisdel, Commissioner, Ouray County Steve Childs, Commissioner, Pitkin County Patti Clapper, Commissioner, Pitkin County George Newman, Commissioner, Pitkin County Greg Poschman, Commissioner, Pitkin County Rachel Richards, Commissioner, Pitkin County Timothy Corrigan, Commissioner, Routt County Jason Anderson, Commissioner, Saguache County Hilary Cooper, Commissioner, San Miguel County Kris Holstrom, San Miguel County Joan May, Commissioner, San Miguel County Thomas Davidson, Commissioner, Summit County Dan Gibbs, Commissioner, Summit County Karn Stiegelmeier, Commissioner, Summit County

CC: Sen. Michel Bennet, Sen. Cory Gardner, Rep. Diana DeGette, Rep. Jared Polis, Rep. Scott Tipton, Rep. Ken Buck, Rep. Doug Lamborn, Rep. Mike Coffman